

Sunday, February 23, 2025.

Activities to commemorate the 68th Independence Day Anniversary

To commemorate Ghana's 68th Independence Anniversary, the National Celebrations Planning Committee (NCPC) has finalised activities for the period.

The planned activities are:

- Commemoration of the 28th February Crossroad Shooting Incident on Friday, February 28, 2025.
- Finals of a nationwide school quiz competition on Sunday March 02, 2025.
- Finals of a nationwide debate competition on Tuesday March 04, 2025.
- President's school children awards programme on Wednesday March 05, 2025.
- Ceremonial parade at the forecourt of the Presidency on Thursday March 06, 2025.

28TH FEBRUARY EVENT

Beginning this week, the Communications Subcommittee of the NCPC will roll-out an information and educational content for television, radio and social media, ahead of the February 28 Wreath Laying Ceremony.

With this new approach we hope to Reset the interest and participation of the youth and the general populace in the significant national event whilst remembering and honouring our heroes.

To this end:

- We will be sharing interesting historical content on the happenings leading up to the 28th
 February 1948 shooting of three (3) ex-service men.
- The Communications Subcommittee will host an X-space conversation on the 'Changing face of Civil Protests in Ghana: Lessons from the past and present'.
- Radio, television, online and print media are encouraged to host and publish conversations to promote the anniversary theme and other activities to deepen public participation.
- The wreath laying ceremony will take place at the Nationalism Park at 8 a.m. on February 28, 2025. The event will be broadcast live and streamed on multiple platforms.
- We encourage the media, bloggers and the public to actively participate by sharing information with your viewers, listeners and readers.

We look forward to your participation and engagement and will update you on the remaining activities at a later date.



SIGNED.

Felix Kwakye Ofosu, MP.

Spokesperson to the President,

Minister, Government Communications.